Hop on Pop

I really don’t know what I was thinking when I decided that I would knit socks for Christmas gifts. It’s coming on a lot slower than I’d like.

I changed my mind with patterns. I decided to knit my Pop the Watson Socks. The yarn I’m using doesn’t show the pattern as well as I like, but I was in a pinch and it was the only yarn I could find RIGHT AWAY that wasn’t wool (I’m allergic to wool). And seriously…who wears wool in Florida?!

This is what I’ve got done so far. They look HUGE. But I’m spot on with the gauge, so I don’t know. I even went down a needle size to get the correct gauge!

This is also my very first toe-up sock. I also learned a new awesome cast-on! Judy’s Magic Cast-on. Seriously…this cast-on is perfect. If you haven’t learned it, and you make toe-up socks, LEARN IT. I think it would also be good for smaller round items…like baby hats!

This pattern also calls for cable knitting without a cable needle (video link), but I found it to be disastrous with this stretchy yarn and these smaller needles. Might just be my pregnancy hands or something. It’s not like I’m not familiar with cables! In fact, they’re my favorite thing to do! Call me crazy, I know. Perhaps it’s the Irish in me šŸ˜‰

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting

Leave a Reply

