First Entrelec project…and a baby!

So since my son has been born, I have to admit that I’ve had hardly any time to knit/crochet. But I’m slowly coming out of it! My most recent project has been this fun little Kindle Cozy by Eileen Casey.

I absolutely love the way this came out. It’s my new favorite thing! And it didn’t take me very long at all. It’s my first entrelac project, and I admit I was a little confused at first, but once I figured out the whole knitting in triangles thing it was a breeze. I even made one for my friend for her bday!

It still needs to be blocked. But it’ll fit her Nook color too!

One note I want to make on the pattern: I didn’t use dpns on this project at all. I used a circular needle. The dpns were too slippery with all the stitches and I found it easier to just knit with a circular needle. I also went down a needle size since the pattern was written for the original Kindle and I have a new one (which is thinner than the original). The yarn I used was Lion Brand Cotton-Ease. The Colors for the first photo are Taupe and Cactus with a Lake border. The second one is Violet and Lake with a Charcoal border.

You can see more pictures on my Ravelry account.

And since I haven’t posted it….here’s my baby!

Zachary Michael was born on January 3, 2011 at 8:17 pm at 8lbs 3oz and 19.5in long! Today he is 7 months old and weighs 18lbs and is a whopping 28.5in long!! It’s absolutely wonderful being a mother.

3 Comments

Filed under Knitting

3 responses to “First Entrelec project…and a baby!

  1. Shanna

    Your baby is a doll. My son’s name is Zachary Michael too! He is 18yrs old and just went to basic training. I love your patterns!

  2. Pat Ada

    Your son is my Birthday partner. Same birthday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

