My journey into bead knitting

So since the cardigan disaster a couple days ago, I felt the need to do something different. I needed to feel some kind of sense of accomplishment! I had seen a couple photos of people who had put beads into their knitting and I always thought it was sooooo pretty. So I decided to try it out 🙂

I started out with doing research. I wasn’t sure what kinds of beads, what size, and how to get the beads on the yarn. I also didn’t know what kind of yarn was best.

Through my research, I found out that thin yarns are best to match up with size 6 seed beads. I also really liked the way the bead placement was when you use a crochet hook and bead as you go instead of stranding a bunch of beads first. Now I had to find a really TINY crochet hook. I’m talking sewing needle tiny.

I got all of my supplies and I was ready. I decided that I wanted to make a headband first.

Side view of the finished headband.

I have to say that it was really hard to get at first. Some of the beads weren’t going onto the yarn and I got a bit frustrated. I figured out that it was the way I was putting them on…I was holding it at an angle and slowly trying to get it through. It’s best to do it in one quick swoop. Also, my TINY crochet hook kept splitting my yarn. That was annoying. But I kept at it, and it got easier as I went along.

Now I was beginning to get hooked! I had visions of beaded knit bracelets and earrings and anklets!!

The first bracelet. It is attached by an icord.

 

 

This first one has an icord attachment feature (reminiscent of the days when we used to make and wear friendship bracelets…you know what I’m talking about hehe). The beads are glass beads and there’s a crochet edging.

The yarn is Debbie Bliss. It’s the same as the headband yarn. I’ll probably make a matching headband for this item before I put it in my shop 🙂

 

 

This next one is the Love and Peace bracelet. It is inspired by my hippy phase. It was a joy learning that I could insert my beads into the pearl side 🙂 This time I pulled out all the stops and knitted clasps directly into the ends. I took the picture before blocking or weaving in any ends so ignore the shape and strings 😉

Love and Peace

So there it is! I am now completely HOOKED. I have plans for earrings and simple anklets…but first I should probably get back to that cardigan…

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting

Leave a Reply

